Community Awards / Pride of Place

Invitation to Voluntary Community Groups to submit Entries for the 2018 Awards

The objective of the Kerry Community Awards is to recognise the work of the community and voluntary sector that seeks to improve the Social, Economic, Cultural and Environmental quality of life in our local communities, both urban and rural.

Kerry Community Awards are open to all community and voluntary groups based in the county, regardless of size or location.

Groups must assist, support or enrich their community in some way, either socially or economically.  Judges will consider a wide range of factors when assessing entries and significant focus will be placed on impact on the community and innovative approaches.

Application forms are available from:

Completed entries should be returned to:

Kerry Community Awards, Community Department, Kerry County Council, County Buildings, Tralee, Co. Kerry
The closing date for receipt of applications is: Friday, 23rd February, 2018
The awards will be presented at an awards ceremony in the Dromhall Hotel to be held on Thursday, 10th May, 2018.


Pride of Place

Sponsored by IPB Insurance, the Pride of Place competition was initiated 15 years ago through a Co-operation Ireland programme to acknowledge the invaluable work undertaken by communities and groups across the island of Ireland. It has grown into the largest competition recognising community development achievements.

2017 IPB Pride of Place Winners Announced

Kerry takes top spot in two of the main competition categories

The winners of the IPB Pride of Place Awards in association with Co-operation Ireland were announced at a gala awards ceremony in Letterkenny on the 2nd of December. The awards acknowledge the achievements and the invaluable work undertaken by volunteers and those involved in local community development.

Glenbeigh in Kerry achieved the runner up position in category one, which is for villages with a population of less than 300 people.  Kerry Social Farming Project also took the runner up spot in category eight, Community Reaching Out Initiative.

During the ceremony 49 awards were announced in the main competition, the cities competition and special awards, ranging from groups supporting small rural communities to those involved in large inner city housing estates.

The winners were presented with their awards by Minister Joe McHugh TD, Government Chief Whip & Minister of State for Gaeilge, An Ghaeltacht and the Islands, Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council, Cllr Gerry McMonagle,  Dr Christopher Moran, Chairman Co-operation Ireland,  Michael McGreal, Vice Chair IPB Insurance and Tom Dowling, Chairperson, Pride of Place Committee.

Contact Us

The Community Department
County Buildings
066 7183680

Translate »